Autism Berkshire - Workshop Article Image

Pre-assessment workshops offer support to parents during wait for NHS autism assessments

Families across Berkshire currently face a wait of more than 12 months for an appointment after children are referred for diagnosis of autism spectrum conditions.

Due to the length of the CAMHS waiting list, the NHS Clinical Commissioning Group federations in the east and west of Berkshire have contracted Autism Berkshire to help deliver advice and support to parents and carers while they wait for an assessment.

As part of this provision, we have been running free Pre-Assessment Workshops for parents and carers at venues across the county since the start of 2016, building on courses provided in Reading in 2015.

More of these half-day workshops will take place in early 2017, as follows:

Reading: Wednesday, January 18; Tuesday, February 21; Tuesday, March 14, at the Autism Berkshire office in Richfield Avenue.

Wokingham: Tuesday, January 31; Monday, February 27; Monday, March 27, at Wokingham Town Hall, in Market Place.

Bracknell: Tuesday, January 10; Monday, March 6, at Bracknell Open Learning Centre, in Rectory Lane.

Slough: Tuesday, January 17; Tuesday, February 21; Tuesday, March 14; Tuesday, March 28, at the Copthorne Hotel Slough, in Cippenham Lane.

Windsor: Tuesday, January 17; Monday, March 13, at Windsor Youth & Community Centre, in Alma Road.

Calcot: Monday, January 23; Monday, March 20, at the East Family Wellbeing Hub (formerly Calcot Children’s Centre), in Curtis Road.

Hungerford: Wednesday, January 11; Wednesday, February 8; Tuesday, March 7, at the Croft Hall.

Click here for more information and times of the workshops and details of how to reserve places, or call us on 01189 594 594 or email admin@autismberkshire.org.uk